“I Help You”, “I Watch You”, ‘Prize”, “That What I Just Say!”

This week my genealogy has taken a detour. I have been unable to locate some much needed notes this week, due to being unorganized and also having my own personal ‘helper’ most of the week. So, instead of writing about one of my ancestors, I’m writing about one of my descendants. My two year-old grandson to be precise.

Due to illness in his family, I was given the wonderful opportunity to enjoy this young man’s company this week. What a joy it was!

After an hours’ drive, I arrived at his house to be shown (again) every new toy Santa had brought him, (and few he’d had for some time). I saw how well he could build a tower using his blocks. I was also shown how the dog and new puppy like to play. Waiting in the car line at sister’s school, we continue to talk about the cars, trucks, trees, rocks, kids in ‘reen jackets, etc. I tell him, “I love you,” and receive a blank stare in return. Again, I tell him, “I love you”. Another blank stare. I then ask him, “Can’t you say, ‘love you, too’? His reply: ‘I can’t talk!” Gotta love him!

Most two year-olds do not like the dark, and he is no exception. Leaving his house well after dark, he was not happy being without light because, “I can’t see!”  Knowing I had to stop at our local WallyWorld on the way home, I promised to get him a flashlight, and managed to keep him distracted until that time.

Taking a toddler to a dept store at 10 at night is definitely an experience- especially when he wants to walk. After walking the entire store, we manage to arrive at the check-out counters with some groceries, a fruit-shooter, (placed at kids eye level), and the much longed for flashlight, (complete with battery), only to find the only ‘cashier’ open was the self-checkout! Did I mention that I DISPISE self-check outs? Mister Independent immediately went into his ‘I help you’ mode. By the time we left that store, he was a scanning master.

The flashlight worked well most of the way home – BUT about 10 minutes into our 15 minute ride, just as we reached the area with no street lights, he dropped it and it landed where neither of us could reach it, and of course it’s florescent light shown directly above the dashboard, causing my van to look really weird from the outside! Trying to convince him that I could not reach it was bad enough, but realizing that I was somewhat over the speed limit of 40 mph when I passed the police car was really irritating. Thankfully, the police went straight when I turned.

The next three days were filled with lots of wonderful activities.

My little helper has several modes: ‘I help you’, ‘I watch you’, and ‘I do it’.

He knows he can’t help with everything, so if he can’t help, he has to watch. Watch you cook on the stove, watch you stir the pots and pans, look in the oven to make sure it’s cooking, watch you wash dishes, watch you put them away, watch you run his bath water, watch you use the remote to work the TV, watch you use a computer- although he tries to help with that.

He loves to cook and has to help. He always pushes the button to open the microwave, and pushes the number buttons to start it cooking, then pushes the button to open it when the bell sounds. He knows not to touch the hot food, but I still remind him.

He loves chicken nuggets, so we made some at home. He had a blast putting the ‘sugar’ on the nuggets grandma cut up. For some reason he called it sugar instead of flour. I guess it was more fun to say.

'sugaring' chicken

‘Sugaring’ the chicken

                                                        Flour child

Flour Child

We made cinnamon rolls with icing, (which he refused to taste). He is very good at knowing what to do, but needed a little help taking the paper off the roll, then popping it on the cabinet. He placed the rolls in the pan by himself, and used a spoon to spread the icing when they were cooled.

He knows where his table is stored, and this week he learned to open and close the legs so it could stand or be stored.

The only problem we had with cooking all week was the tea disaster. After opening the tea bags, and placing them in the pot of water to boil, he waited patiently to stir the pitcher. The first time went well. The second time did not. While standing on his stool, he was stirring the tea pitcher, which was in the sink so he could reach it. I stepped away to get the camera, and boom! he fell off the stool – the tea pitcher tilted sideways – and tea covered him and the floor! He wasn’t hurt, just scared, and a little upset – that stool was his favorite ‘tool’ at grandma’s, and it had let him down. Oh, well, he got a much loved bubble bath, so it wasn’t all bad.

His favorite cooking activity didn’t involve cooking at all. We used celery, apples, pretzels, chocolate chips, craisins and peanut butter to make ants on a log, snails, and butterflies. Peanut butter was everywhere when we finished – even on the celery. He raked it off the table, licked it off his fingers, his hands, and the spoon, because, “I love peanut butter.” Grandma washed it off his face and out of his hair.

       Snail Snack

Snail Snack

Licking peanut butter

Licking peanut butter

He also helps with everyday chores. ‘I Help You’ mode includes putting the clothes in the washer while naming each piece, pushing them in the dryer while naming each piece, and getting them out of the dryer-“Where’s my pants?”

Drying clothes

His ‘I Do It’ mode involves turning lamps on and off, getting new diapers out of his ‘tootcase’, and placing the bags containing the used ones in the garbage. He also drags his stool where it’s needed- whether it’s the kitchen cabinets to cook or the bathroom sink to brush his teeth.

His daddy gave him some chap-stick before he left home, and he put it in his ‘tootcase’. This visit, he actually kept it there, using it several times a days, and always placing it back inside when he was finished.

Trying to surprise us, he loves to run into the room and yell, “’Prize!”, then laugh. He is indeed a PRIZE.

His new antics this visit still have me grinning. While looking for supper items, he discovered my canned goods cabinet door was open – a place forbidden to him. While I watched, he used the items inside- “I build towers!” With cans of all different sizes, he did indeed build towers. (don’t panic, the medicine bottles contain toothpicks)

Building towers

Building towers

Whenever I told him something he already knew, or didn’t want to hear, he would give me a stern/mean look, and in a deep voice respond, “That what I just say!”

Every time I did something he tried and couldn’t do, he would ask me, “How’d you do dat?” It is so easy to amaze a two year-old. Almost as easy as it is for a two year-old to amaze his grandma!

And even though, he is home today, granddaddy and I are still enjoying the antics of his visit. This morning I discovered the partially filled tea glass I left in the refrigerator last night was frozen. That has never happened before. I checked the temperature control knob, and found it had been turned to the highest point possible! Guess that also explains how the lettuce got freezer burn. Thanks for the laughs, sweet boy!

Next week, I  will combine three themes into one post about my great grandparents; a tough woman whose birthday was close to mine, and her husband who had a terrible plowing experience.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

One thought on ““I Help You”, “I Watch You”, ‘Prize”, “That What I Just Say!”

Leave a Reply

